TikTok doesn’t need much introduction as it is currently the sixth-most famous social media network in the world behind Whatsapp, YouTube, Facebook, and Instagram.
According to the TikTok stats 2022 by Shopify, the Chinese-owned network has over 1 billion users, of which 386 million users are between ages 18 and 24.
Considering the numbers above, it won’t be out of place to say that both old and young people love TikTok’s features and services.
However, there have been some concerns about the platform’s security in recent times. Some are scared of losing their data to hackers through the platform, while others are uncomfortable deleting the application from their devices.
They believe they will lose important information in the process, but how true is that? Well, you will find out in this article as we will discuss all you should know about TikTok’s approach to protecting users’ data. We will also discuss how to avoid being scammed while exploring the social media platform.
Does Deleting TikTok App delete your data?
No. Deleting the TikTok application doesn’t delete your data from the platform. Other TikTok users can still access videos, images, comments, and content you uploaded before deleting the application.
Deleting your TikTok app only prevents you from accessing your profile while your data remains intact and secured.
Nothing will happen to your data on TikTok’s database even if you don’t access your account for a while. You will retain your data and files whenever log in to your profile.
However, you should know the difference between deleting the TikTok application on your device and deleting your TikTok account from the network’s database.
Deleting your TikTok account simply means deleting all your details and information from the platform’s database. It means you will lose your videos, images, comments and other content after 30 days of deleting your account.
In this case, you cannot access, retain, or retrieve your profile because TikTok has wiped them out of its system or database.
What Happens If I Delete My TikTok Account?
As stated earlier, you will lose your data if you delete your TikTok account. You will need to create a new account because all the uploaded files and videos won’t exist after deleting your account.
Does TikTok Keep Your Data?
Yes, TikTok keeps users’ data for numerous reasons. The social media network deploys cookies and other trackers to gather your information as soon as you launch the TikTok software on your PC or Smartphone.
The platform keeps records and data of all the activities you perform, including the type of videos you watch, your message, search history, and how long you spend on every video.
TikTok also knows your device’s IP address, age, gender, video preferences, and location. It equally tracks your reaction to ads that pop up on your screen.
It is also believed that TikTok can collect US users’ biometric details, including face and voiceprints.
Similarly, TikTok will collect and keep your Facebook data if you sign up using the Facebook option.
Does Deleting TikTok Delete Messages?
Deleting the TikTok application doesn’t mean your messages won’t exist on the platform.
You can access all your TikTok messages once you log into your profile on another device. TikTok will only delete your messages from its database after deleting your profile or account.
Deleting your TIKTOK account will clear your messages and other related files including videos, search history, images, etc from the platform. Hence, don’t delete your account unless you have nothing to do with TikTok anymore.
What Gets Deleted After Deleting TikTok?
Should you be worried about deleting TikTok? No, because deleting TikTok doesn’t have much adverse effect on your data and files.
Nothing gets deleted after you uninstall the TikTok application. Therefore, there’s no need to panic.
Your files, personal information, and videos aren’t affected when you delete your TikTok app.
What can TikTok do with your data?
As mentioned earlier, TikTok collects users’ data for specific reasons. It gathers sufficient information to know the kind of video to recommend for your consumption.
For instance, your watch history provides a good clue to the type of video you love viewing on TikTok.
Hence, the platform will know what video to display on your screen based on the collected watch history.
The same thing applies to your age, location and necessary information obtained from your account.
The data also help TikTok predicts the ads that would capture your attention. For instance, sports ads would pop up on your screen if TikTok discovers you watch football videos a lot.
Your activity data will help the platform know the ads that can easily convert you into a customer.
Contrary to popular belief that TikTok sells users’ data to ad companies, TikTok doesn’t sell data to third-party advertising agents. Instead, the platform seeks to benefit commercially from your stored data by knowing ads that would attract your attention.
Is TikTok Safe?
TikTok, like other social media platforms, is safe for users who are security cautious while using it.
The app doesn’t feature malware that could affect or corrupt your device. However, you must be vigilant enough to spot fraudsters and fake accounts looking for victims.
We advise you avoid interacting with suspicious accounts or people who come up with skeptical or unregistered business deals.
How To Identify Scams On TikTok?
Below are some ways to identify TikTok scams:
1. They Deploy Romance Strategy: Some scams often deploy the romantic approach. They would tell you smooth and romantic words, promising to marry you.
This is rampant during the valentine’s period. They will demand a sum of money after gaining your trust, and never return if you fall for their mischievous.
2. They Promise More Likes and Followers: They will request a sum of money to help boost your followers and likes. Trusting them puts you in danger of being scammed.
3. Phishing Approach: Fraudsters on TikTok also use this method to dupe users. They will ask you to click a link that will redirect you to a page where they will obtain all your sensitive information, including login details.
Study links that pop up on your screen before clicking them to avoid being a victim.